Three State Colleges Will Share Federal Grant Addressing Campus Sexual Assaults

Emily Archacki
August 30, 2018 - 11:58 am

FARMINGTON, Conn. (WTIC) The Justice Department announced Wednesday 57 grants were awarded to colleges and universities across the country to help respond to and address sexual violence on campuses.

Three Connecticut colleges are among the list of institutions that will share in the grants totaling $18 million: Albertus Magnus College, Asnuntuck Community College and Fairfield University.

In a statement from the U.S. Department of Justice, the grants are said to “support institutions of higher education in implementing comprehensive, coordinated responses to violent crimes on campus through partnerships with victim services providers and justice agencies.”

The money will be used to fund specialized training and other services to combat dating violence, domestic violence, sexual assault and stalking.

Students, faculty and staff will receive education and training respectively. Other individuals who are often first responders to situations on campuses such as campus law enforcement, university personnel, and health care providers may also receive specialized training as well.